Crack Books


The Way of Silence: The Prose and Poestry of Basho by Richard Lewis by Crack Books

The Way of Silence: The Prose and Poetry of Basho by Richard Lewis

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Great book of haiku by the master (or perhaps the originator) of the form, Basho.

In lieu of a review, here are some of my favorites:

-The first winter rain,
And my name shall be called
“Traveller.” (47)

-Winter desolation;
In a world of one color
The sound of the wind. (57)

-The Way of Haiku arises from concentration and lack of distraction.
Look well within yourself. (70)

-I do not seek to follow in the footsteps of the men of old;
I seek the things they sought. (82)

Also, love the photos by Helen Buttfield, though that’s a most unfortunate name for a photographer (or anyone, really).

View all my reviews >>

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Nice Basho quotes.

Among my fave of his are:

A thicket of summer grass
Is all that remains
Of the dreams of ancient warriors.

Petals of the mountain rose
Fall now and then,
To the sound of the waterfall

First snow
Falling
On the half-finished bridge.

Well there are so many of his I like, literally too many to list here.

Thanks for sharing.

TH

Comment by talibhaiku

I will admit that I read through many of these very quickly, and that often nature imagery doesn’t strike a chord with me, but that’s really why I like haiku. They’re short enough that the images have to mean something, unlike modern verse where the poet can babble on for pages without saying a thing. I definitely like the one about the ancient warriors. Thanks for sharing some of your faves!

Comment by Laura Roberts

That is actually a good point you make about some conventional poets – who though may be saying a lot, actually end up saying nothing at all. I agree.

Moreover, I have often found the shortest books to be among te most profound, I think the same can apply with authors.

‘The Richest Man in Babylon’ by George S. Clason, ‘The Pearl’ by John Steinbeck, ‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho and ‘The Alchemy of Happiness’ by Al-Ghazzali (written in the 10thC. though part of a larger work of his)

Books such as those just mentioned come to mind, in my opinion.

Comment by talibhaiku

[…] posted at Crack Books AKPC_IDS += […]

Pingback by THE WAY OF SILENCE: THE PROSE AND POETRY OF BASHO BY RICHARD LEWIS :: Black Heart Magazine




Leave a Reply

