Crack Books


Notes from Underground by Fyodor Dostoevsky by Crack Books

Notes from Underground: with White Nights, The Dreams of a Ridiculous Man, and selections from The House of the Dead Notes from Underground: with White Nights, The Dreams of a Ridiculous Man, and selections from The House of the Dead by Fyodor Dostoevsky

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Notes from Underground is obviously a classic; a tale of a tormented, sick man who knows exactly how screwed up he is, but refuses to do anything about it. Just the type of modern (or postmodern, at this point) malaise that we all suffer from, at one point or another. Unlike Underground Man, hopefully, we all pull out of it eventually, rather than submitting completely to this netherworld.

Just the type of thing I’d read, back when I was a NYC cellar dweller, peering remorsefully from my hobbit hole at the grey sky and cursing all of humanity. If I’d smoked, I could’ve been the perfect cliché. Thankfully I didn’t. I also moved on up to the second floor and left at least some of my cynicism behind, below ground.

Read it and weep. Then dust yourself off and get on with your life.

View all my reviews >>

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] posted at Crack Books AKPC_IDS += […]

Pingback by NOTES FROM UNDERGROUND BY FYODOR DOSTOEVSKY :: Black Heart Magazine




Leave a Reply

